I don’t think that it’s still necessary to discuss how Kindle or any other e-reader makes reading easy to all of us. E-Readers are here to stay and the only point of discussion is to determine which among the devices around would suit your need at reasonable cost.

I have been using the older version or should I say the cheaper version of Kindle for quite some time until my sister sent me this Kindle Keyboard 3G. It is slightly bigger than my old Kindle, but not too big to cause discomfort when I am reading from it while sitting on my lazy boy couch. It has the same display size but the texts are sharper with better contrast. The keyboard is a bit small which makes me accidentally press other keys around. But after two days, I was able to manage well with the keys that using it becomes second nature to me.

If you have your own Wi-Fi system at home and don’t travel a lot, it’s wiser to purchase Kindle Keyboard Wi-Fi. It is because Kindle Keyboard Wi-Fi is $50 cheaper and the device would instantly connect to Wi-Fi instead of using AT&T’s 3G network. Kindle 3G Canada uses AT&T’s cellular network only when there’s no Wi-Fi available. I have also observed that if it’s connected to Wi-Fi, it’s also a lot faster as compared to 3G’s connection.

In addition, in cases when you need to access your email or browse the Internet with the use of your Kindle, it will only do so through Wi-Fi signal.

Browsing the Internet is limited on Kindle Keyboard but it can. You cannot just expect that it will work as well as you would on IPad.

When you own a Kindle Keyboard, a Kindle email is assigned to you, which you can use to send your personal documents to Kindle. As long as the document is on .pdf, .doc, . jpeg, .gif or .png, it will automatically convert those files to Kindle format. But of course, the pictures are going to be on black and white, but it is definitely clear.

Accessing Gmail or Yahoo mail is also possible on Kindle keyboard. Although some people thought that they can’t access it in Canada, I believe that they just don’t know how to do it. Let me share here the steps.

How to Access Gmail or Yahoo Mail on Kindle Keyboard 3G Canada

1. Turn the wireless on.
2. Go to Home > Menu > Experimental
3. Select “Basic Web”
4. The Bookmark page appears. Enter http://m.gmail.com for gmail and http://m.yahoo.com for Yahoo mail on the “Enter URL” field.
5. Read your mail

That’s how easy it is. Kindle is considered a mobile device, and you will need to access Yahoo and Gmail’s mobile interface.
Before I end this, let me say this again. If you travel a lot, or there’s a need for you to carry Kindle on anywhere you go, get the Kindle Keyboard 3G to avoid the hassle of looking for Wi-Fi hotspots each time that you need to download an ebook.

Additional Resources:
Kindle Store Canada
Kindle 3G Network in Canada
Kindle Gift Card Canada
Kindle Touch in Canada